KHS Yearbook Staff Earn National Recognition

Walsworth award granted to top 5 percent of publications

Kearney High School’s 2021 staff for The Clipper yearbook included (top row, from left) Mackenzie Nelson, Bethany Morgan, Michaela Schmohl, (bottom row, from left) Kaylee Baggerly, Kaylin Higgins and Morgan Wood, along with sponsor Karen Johnson. Staff member Tyler Freestone is not pictured.

Kearney, Mo., Oct. 6, 2021: Congratulations to The Clipper yearbook staff at Kearney High School for recently earning the Walsworth Gallery of Excellence award for the sixth straight year!

This annual honor is granted to approximately the top five percent of the over 4,000 yearbooks that Walsworth publishes across the country. The KHS team dedicates thousands of combined hours of time-and-task to produce The Clipper, according to Broadcast Media teacher and yearbook sponsor Karen Johnson.

“The amount of work our students put in to publish our yearbook is astounding,” Ms. Johnson said. “They’re giving up nights and weekends because they are so committed to excellence. And they are maintaining that level of achievement year after year. It’s become a legacy at KHS, part of our culture in the journalism program.”

The Clipper is one facet of a larger network of student-produced media developed in Kearney School District to share news and information with stakeholders. It also includes KHS-TV, KJH-TV and the Bulldog Broadcasting Network (BBN).

These media provide invaluable Real World Learning opportunities for KSD students, including having the experience of producing nationally broadcast athletic events for ESPN3. Visit to learn more about the KHS journalism program and the Kearney News Network.

Plans are in the works for a Walsworth representative to honor The Clipper staff in person during an all-school assembly at KHS. This recognition is yet more evidence that our Bulldog students and staff are simply the best!